Thursday, July 11, 2013

Goodies from GFreedom's Music Collection #5

                          ARENA: The Visitor (1998)

   Arena in a british Neo-Prog band, that follows the footsteps of Marillion. That shouldn't be a surprise if you consider that their drummer (Mick Pointer) is Marillion's first drummer. Together with Clive Nolan are the founding members of the band, and if I'm not mistaken the only steady members since 1995.
  "The Visitor" was released in 1998, it's their 3rd album, and one of their best works in my opinion. The album has 14 songs in total, and a running time of almost 62 minutes.
It is a concept album with a very interesting theme story: It is about an angry and disillusioned man who walks across a frozen lake. At some point, the ice breaks beneath his feet and he is sinking in the cold water.
Most of the songs are about the moments that he sinks; his feelings, his thoughts, and how he is trying to handle this life-threatening situation.
   There are many great songs here, and some of them can be considered as Arena's best songs in general.
(The Hanging Tree, Tears in the Rain & Enemy Without are some of them).
   This record was an expensive production, and this is clear in every little detail. From the sound, up to the cover and the booklet inside. It was a very ambitious work, and the overall result is satisfying to say the least!
   I strongly recommend this album to the fans of Marillion or Progressive Rock in general, but also to those who likes Rock music as well. You will find some great melodies here, strong guitar riffs and beautiful solos (but in many occasions they will remind you the guitar sound of David Gilmour), and an excellent singer with a voice that fits perfectly to the music and the style of the band.
 And here is the full tracklist of the album:
  1. "A Crack in the Ice" – 7:25
  2. "Pins and Needles" – 2:46
  3. "Double Vision" – 4:25
  4. "Elea" – 2:36
  5. "The Hanging Tree" – 7:10
  6. "A State of Grace" – 3:26
  7. "Blood Red Room" – 1:48
  8. "In the Blink of an Eye" – 5:29
  9. "(Don't Forget To) Breathe" – 3:40
  10. "Serenity" – 2:10
  11. "Tears in the Rain" – 5:44
  12. "Enemy Without" – 5:05
  13. "Running from Damascus" – 3:45
  14. "The Visitor" – 6:14